A great letter to the WBAI station manager from listener Melinda Holm that sums the situation up beautifully.

From: Melinda Holm <welcomeholm@…>

Date: August 8, 2022 at 10:18:48 AM EDT

To: Berthold Reimers <berthold@wbai.org>

Subject: Where is my 6 o’clock news?

hi bertold

i’ve been waiting to hear my 6 o’clock news. Where is it? It’s the only reason I turn on my radio at night and then I’m happy to get the 630 shows particularly the movie one on Friday and the economist on Wednesday.

Otherwise I’ll just watch PBS and get at least some local news from New Jersey and some international news from the BBC before judy comes on.

Paul gives a very informative half hour news show. I like the local news he covers and all the great quotes that he gets. And then I like when he covers some national or international news because again he gets quotes that we don’t hear elsewhere. In my opinion he’s an amazing newscaster. I don’t need a rehash of democracy now which I try and catch every morning. If I miss it I can always catch it on the archives if I am so inclined.

please advise. I am a supporter of WBAI and make an annual contribution in the last quarter. and actually I came to the station and met you when I bought Gary’s air purifier before Covid hit, I volunteered many times for during fund drives.

i’m sure if you have a way to check your ratings you’ll find that Paul’s news show is up in the top five of your radio stations offerings. Please bring him back,

please listen to what I’m saying and hear me,

thank you

Melinda Holm

Published by Paul DeRienzo

I provide expert direction and advice for progressive public media outlets on how to create news broadcasts and podcasts in the rapidly developing field of new media including community and low power radio, social media live streaming, and live broadcast and online interactive news experiences. Building on my 20 years experience in public access television production, radio broadcasting and media education I can take your media experience to new levels and to national and international audiences. Whether a live call-in show, a full scale news department or 5 minutes at the top of the clock tap my expertise in turning the voice of truthful, hard-hitting progressive political news into your voice.

Leave a comment